A Family Wedding and a Visit “Home”

Oh man, the craziness has begun! We knew that starting in April our lives would kick into hyperdrive, and April is now almost over. Hence the lack of posting. This is not a post about moving to Seattle or any of our preparations– I’ll work on that one later. But you’re about to get a lot of pictures, so buckle in…

After Match Day, our next big event was Alex and Rachel’s wedding in Kansas City. Michael went to help his brother with the prep about a week and a half before the big day,Β then I drove down with Patrick and Lauren (my other brother-in-law and future sister-in-law) a week later. After 13 hours in the car, we still managed to pull offΒ a decent sibling photo:

IMG_0285

The Hermelin “kids”! Plus Alex and Rachel’s dogs, Oliver (in Lauren’s lap) and Gwenie.

The guys celebrated Alex’s bachelor party that evening with a Sporting KC game, and we girls got to have an unexpected dinner date– a time I’ll treasure. I’m so, so grateful that those two women up there are the ones my brothers (in law) have chosen. They’re pretty great.

The next day was all about setting up the venue and rehearsing!

IMG_0490

IMG_0312IMG_0313

IMG_0327

IMG_0336

IMG_0419

Pizza and beer for the rehearsal dinner. A+

IMG_0456

The next morning, Mom Hermelin, Lauren and I got ready together. Alex stopped by to practice the mother-son dance, and I had to snap this picture of the bathrobe/heels combo. πŸ™‚

IMG_0465IMG_0466

IMG_0473

IMG_0486

IMG_0503

OKAY

IMG_0505

And then it was ceremony time, and I put the camera away! Picked it up again during the reception…

IMG_0519

Maid-of-honor’s speech

IMG_0531

And my husband gave a speech about his brother that left me in tears. Geez.

IMG_3388

Ridiculously, my only real picture of the bride and groom on their wedding day is this blurry iPhone photo of their first dance. But if you can get past the graininess, you can see the joy they radiated that night. ❀

Michael and I extended our time in the area through the end of the weekend so that we could visit my friends and family in Kansas, so the next day we struck out for our first stop: lunch with Uncle Larry and Aunt Myra:

IMG_3395

Delicious KC BBQ.

After catching up with them and poking around at an estate sale together, we headed to Lawrence and visited my alma mater.

IMG_0568

My first visit to KU’s campus after I was accepted was in April of 2008. I’ll never forget how beautiful the campus was with tulips in full bloom that year, or any of following springs that I spent there.

IMG_0573

I was wearing my Sellards shirt, so obviously I had to pay a visit to my old scholarship hall, too.

And THEN we headed down to Mass Street for the main event:

IMG_0580

Meeting Miss Darcy Lee Boehmler.

IMG_0582

We are having a very serious conversation here, because Darcy is a VERY serious baby.

It’s one thing to know your friends are parents, but it’s another to actually see them in action. Our visit was too short, but it was pretty amazing to see Aaron and Amanda– friends I’ve known since before they were even dating– be Mom and Dad to this precious little one.

IMG_0583

Daddy admiring his daughter.

IMG_0589

Beautiful Mama.

IMG_0593

Darcy B., one short visit was not enough.Β It was wonderful to see you at two months; my hope and prayer is to see you through two years and two decades, as well. I’ll always be your Auntie Dana. πŸ™‚

After Lawrence, we headed for our westernmost destination: Topeka for a meal with a good chunk of the Wible side.

IMG_0597

I highly recommend being friends with your cousins as adults. There’s nothing quite like it.

The next morning, we visited TBC and I got to see SO MANY people I love!

IMG_0603

Liz, the Mahner girls, and Lori– Liz and Leah were in 7th grade when I first started working with the youth group, and now they’re all multiple years out from graduation. And I feel old! (Lori is ageless as always)

IMG_0611

My dear friend Heidi.

We wrapped up our trip with some classic Topeka Mexican food at El Mezcal, and a couple more pictures:

IMG_0619

IMG_0615

Thanks for smiling, Grandma. πŸ™‚

And that was last weekend! Whew!

-*-

This week is Michael’s last week of rotations (i.e. his last week of medical school! What?!) and my last week of work. We’ve had a weekend full of time with friends, and we’re looking forward to leaving for a cruise in six days to celebrate graduation, our second anniversary, etc. and to try to relax a bit before all the coming changes.

 

One thought on “A Family Wedding and a Visit “Home”

Leave a Reply

