Autumn, Etc.

We’re deep in the middle of interview season, and time is scarce. Between airport runs and work, taking care of the dog and trying to shower every… once in a while, it feels like time keeps slipping past too quickly. I know that’s not true. Time doesn’t really change. Each person has as much as the next. But it feels precious these days, and I’m grateful to say that amidst the crazy, we’ve made room for a few really good things.

At the beginning of October, I went on a weekend trip to Columbus with my friends here. It was a perfect intro to fall– cool weather, thrifting, and an all-women 10K (one of my favorite races I’ve done!).

Obligatory silly jumping picture.

Obligatory silly jumping picture.

On October 14th, Patrick and Lauren got engaged!

VERY excited for these two.

VERY excited for these two.

Woohoo! I have sisters, and I have brothers-in-law, but Lauren will be my first sister-in-law. I didn’t even think about the fact that I get to have more sisters until now. 🙂 They’re planning on marrying late next summer, and we are SO. EXCITED.

Mid-month, my friend Cait came all the way from LA to visit for just two days. You can tell she really loves me. 🙂 It was FREEZING while she was here– crazy weather in the 30s (as I write this, three weeks later, it’s a balmy 68). But it was nice for her to have some respite from the heat, anyway, even though she had to unearth her jacket from deep storage to come here. We did Cleveland-y stuff (the botanical gardens, Town Hall, metroparks) and also Cait-and-Dana stuff (sitting at Starbucks for two hours, reading our separate books).

This is exactly how I want my garden to look.

This is exactly how I want my garden to look.

IMG_2535

A very welcome and familiar sight. <3

A very welcome and familiar sight. ❤

The Cait-and-Dana stuff was the best part. I’m so grateful to have a friend who’s willing to cross three time zones just to hang out with me for a little bit. Love you, Cait!

Since September, I’ve been taking an online career coaching course– I’ve mentioned it before. It’s wrapping up now, and I can say that it’s definitely been worth it! The course I took had a ton of information packed in, and I still have a lot of processing to do. It would be nice if I had come out of the course with an exact job that I know is perfect for me, but we all know it doesn’t really work like that. The great coaching I received helped me to start thinking about my work and my goals in a more productive way, so that I can figure out the type of work I want to do– something a lot of different jobs will probably fulfill. But like I said, I’m still processing! And I loved my coaching experience. If you are trying to explore career options, or you know someone who needs some guidance, I’d highly recommend Clarity on Fire. I found them when I was searching for career quizzes (desperation will do that), and theirs is the best one I’ve ever taken. They offer different levels of coaching, but I subscribed to their free blog for several months before deciding to take the plunge, and their blog is extremely helpful and inspiring, too. They care so much about the work they do that they put a lot of their best advice out there for free.

On Halloween, our household (including our downstairs neighbors and friends) hosted a Harry Potter party for the Medwives. I feel pretty lucky to have found such nerdy friends who are willing to make fun stuff like this happen. I’m also thankful for the cheap rent in Cleveland, which allows us to have a big enough place to host parties. We’re doing our best to really soak up our time here, in this place, with these friends.

They're the best.

They’re the best.

Michael has had a crazy month of travel, and November might be even crazier. Within the last four weeks, he’s been in San Diego (for a research conference), Wisconsin, Connecticut, and Chicago (all for interviews). We’re hanging in there, but I can’t even imagine how exhausted we’ll both be in late January when this season is over! We’re just taking it one day and one trip at a time.

My mom also had some big news to share recently, which she can tell you about much better than I can. You can find her story on her blog. I’m anticipating January with nerves and excitement, along with the expectation of lots of adjustments to be made. We love you, Mama, and are so proud of your courage. And we’re praying for you at every step.

Leave a Reply

