Augustus

Since apparently I’m only writing monthly blog posts now, I might as well make a title game out of it. (But really. I enjoy writing. I want to, and should, do it more often.)

My coworkers and I go through a cycle of designing our changeable wall calendar each month, and I get August. This year my theme was real original: “August.” I put a lot of imagination into the color scheme, too: I used my wedding colors. (Ha.) But the fun part was looking up quotes about August to put on days when we didn’t have any programs going on. I found some beauts:

“The first week of August hangs at the very top of summer, the top of the live-long year, like the highest seat of a Ferris wheel when it pauses in its turning. The weeks that come before are only a climb from balmy spring, and those that follow a drop to the chill of autumn, but the first week of August is motionless, and hot. It is curiously silent, too, with blank white dawns and glaring noons, and sunsets smeared with too much color. Often at night there is lightning, but it quivers all alone.”

It’s the opening passage from Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt. (Side note: Reading it instantly made me rue the drop in quality of children’s literature. This book didn’t even win a Newbery HONOR the year it was published! What?! There were that many good books to choose from?) But professional opinions aside, that’s exactly what the start of August feels like for me every year. I almost don’t want to write this post anymore; that paragraph says it all.

I feel dropped out of time for a bit at the beginning of August– and then mid-month (after my birthday, let’s be honest) everything goes on fast-forward. This month will go by even quicker than most. Today I’m embarking on an 11-day stretch of working, and then the next day after that I leave for Montana and our Wible family vacation. That will take me almost to the end of the month. It’s all coming too fast. In a few days I’ll be considered in my late twenties. (I know some of the generation above me are rolling their eyes at that, but it’s how I feel– and I bet you did, too, at one point!) Michael will be applying for residency programs in ONE month. We are moving into the next stage of adulthood, with lots of big decisions coming, decisions that will set the course for a big chunk of our lives. And it’s right at the drop from August into September, which happens way too fast, and I just want to take a minute to slow it down. And I think of this other quote:

“I love borders. August is the border between summer and autumn; it is the most beautiful month I know. Twilight is the border between day and night, and the shore is the border between sea and land. The border is longing: when both have fallen in love but still haven’t said anything. The border is to be on the way. It is the way that is the most important thing.” – Tove Jansson, from Moominvalley in November

We are on the way, and I am working hard to savor the journey.

One thought on “Augustus

Leave a Reply

