Summer Is Here!

It’s been a few weeks since I posted, due to some crazy goings-on around here. A lot has happened!

  • My car was t-boned (I’m fine, no worries) on the morning of the day…
  • … My family came into town! Lindsey, Wyn, Leigh, Darcy, and Mom Wible, at least. We did lots of fun stuff. My car was out of commission for over two weeks, which made their visit tricky, but thankfully the other driver’s insurance covered the damage.
Lindsey and Wyn arrived first.

Lindsey and Wyn arrived first.

The best toys are found in the unlikeliest of places... Growler, anyone?

The best toys are found in the unlikeliest of places… Growler, anyone?

Mom and Leigh and Darcy arrived the next day. We all went to the Botanical Garden on my day off!

Mom and Leigh and Darcy arrived the next day. We all went to the Botanical Garden on my day off!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Bird of Paradise.

Bird of Paradise.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It's impossible to get enough of these faces.

It’s impossible to get enough of these faces.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Isis was an angel the whole time. Why are we even surprised anymore? What a good pup.

Isis was an angel the whole time. Why are we even surprised anymore? What a good pup.

  • I ran a half marathon! It was hard. By far the most difficult run I’ve ever done. The air was so thick and humid, it was like trying to breathe through a straw for 13.1 miles. My leg cramps were unbelievable. But I made it! And within two minutes of my goal time. I will spare you the pictures…
  • Michael started his last rotation of his third year of medical school. He’s now doing pediatrics, and ONE WEEK FROM TODAY he will be an M4, starting with an AI (acting internship) in radiology at the Cleveland Clinic. His plans for fourth year are slowly but surely beginning to take shape. So many changes and big things are coming up– it’s a lot to take in, but exciting all the same.
  • Our friend Ethan moved away. He’s gone to Seattle for his job, and while we are happy for him we are sad he’s gone. We are also sad that on his last night with us, I got food poisoning and missed it all. To his great credit, he visited me on the bathroom floor to hug me goodbye. We love you E-bear! We miss you so much already!
  • Michael and I celebrated our anniversary! One whole year of being married. We can’t believe it. Watching our wedding video, we were reminded again of how loved we are. I was so moved to see the faces of so many I love, most of whom traveled a long way to be there for my wedding. You know who you are. Thanks for being there, it meant more than you know.
We spent a night downtown and got to explore a little bit.

We spent a night downtown and got to explore a little bit.

This was before the finals. :(((((

This was before the finals. :(((((

We even ate some of our freezer-burned cake! (We cut that part out.)

We even ate some of our freezer-burned cake! (We cut that part out.)

  • American Pharoah won the triple crown! I actually saw that horse in person!
  • Summer is here! The garden has been planted, kids are at the library all day long, we can eat outside, and we have daylight from 6am until 9pm. I can go outside without five layers. Sunshine never felt so good.
  • On Saturday we celebrated Grandpa Adamek’s 80th birthday. It’s always fun to get together with the big extended family, and this time it was just what we needed to give us some perspective with all these looming decisions to make.
  • Yesterday was Summer Solstice, my favorite day of the year. When we got Isis, we didn’t know her exact birthday so we gave her my favorite day– it was about the right time of year. So yesterday, Isis turned three!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I just love this weirdo so much.

I just love this weirdo so much.

She's practically human.

She’s practically human.

  • Yesterday was also Father’s Day. I’m so grateful for my dad, who has always been such an amazing reflection of how our Heavenly Father loves us. I’m thankful for a wonderful father-in-law, who continually supports us and wants the very best for us. My grandfathers, my Uncle Larry, and my Uncle Terry all loved and love me like fathers do, and I recognize that I am extremely lucky to have such wonderful men in my family. Happy (belated) Father’s Day!
  • I’m enjoying my statistics class, which is a good thing, I think! It’s rough working full time and taking care of Michael and myself (and our dog) and trying to go to school at the same time, but we’re making it work.

This life of ours continues to be a blessing and a challenge. Yesterday, on the longest day of the year, I was grumpy about going to bed at 9:30 since Michael had to be at work at 6 this morning. I felt a little sorry for myself as I watched the sun still shining outside our window, behind our blinds, and fought the feeling of being wide awake (I thought of this poem by Robert Louis Stevenson– I can still picture the illustrations in the book that belonged to my mom!). But this morning on my walk with Isis at 5:30, the sun was shining again, and I got to enjoy the morning of the second-longest day of the year, and I was reminded again to focus on all those good things instead of the hard things.

Sorry for the loooooooong post. Happy summer, everyone!

Leave a Reply

