A Few Days with Lydia Mae

Last week, I had the honor to visit my friend Megan just six days after the birth of her baby girl, Lydia Mae.

I got to spend a few days with the little family of three on their family farm in Iowa. It was beautiful, even in the brown days of early spring.

No filter needed.

No filter needed.

It was really special to be there with Meggie during some of her first days as a Mama. I’ve watched her yearn to be a parent for a long time, and she fell into that role with such God-given serenity. It was precious to see.

A grainy (but lovely) shot of mama and baby.

Of course, little Lydia is a stunner.

Look at those eyelashes.

I got lots of cuddle time in.

The Meyer family’s dog, Charley, felt a little displaced.

He mostly cuddled with me at night. It was good for me, too, because I was missing my own puppy at home.

Here's a picture Michael sent to me while I was gone, and I think it's becoming my favorite of Isis.

Here’s a picture Michael sent to me while I was gone, and I think it’s becoming my favorite of Isis.

Charley assisted in a tour of the farm, complete with a (what must have been freezing) swim in the fish pond.

I also got in a couple runs while I was there. Megan is my very favorite running partner, but having delivered a baby a few days ago and all, she couldn’t join me. (FAIR EXCUSE.) So I flew solo on these country roads.

I snapped this during my long training run. I discovered I don't like running on gravel.

I snapped this during my long training run.

I also got to enjoy these perfect wine glasses reminiscent of Lawrence, where Meggie and I became friends.

Ah, Fraser Hall. All my English and Psych classes were in you. And also that really unfortunate Anthro class my last semester.

Ah, Fraser Hall. All my English and Psych classes were in you. And also that really unfortunate Anthro class my last semester.

We also got to watch two (okay… the only two 😦 ) KU games together. Rock Chalkin’ till the day we die!

Of course, Miss Lydia was the main attraction, and I feel so proud to be her “Auntie” Dana.

Even when she's kinda crabby, she looks like she's smiling.

Even when she’s kinda crabby, she looks like she’s smiling.

In my close-knit group of friends from college, Lydia is the first baby. That’s what I thought about a lot towards the end of our visit. In years to come, when I ship my kids off to the farm for some character-building (if I faced those big steers down, they can, too!), Lydia will be the ring-leader. Probably giving them lots of guidance like her mama did for me.

I love you so much already, baby girl. I hope I get to see you again soon.

They'll be best friends before they even realize what's happened.

They’ll be best friends before they even realize what’s happened.

I returned to Cleveland a couple days ago, thankful for the few days I had with the Meyers. I got to see the family farm, have soul-filling conversation with Megan and Zach, learn the ropes of caring for cattle (sort of), and drive a tractor! … And hopefully, to help around the house and give Megan and Zach some needed rest. Then I came back to my own little family here.

I missed these guys.

I missed these guys.

One thought on “A Few Days with Lydia Mae

Leave a Reply

