Doughnuts and Interviews and Fourth Year

Last weekend, Michael and I both had both days off. Shall we call it a miracle? We were determined to soak it all in.

Saturday morning, we slept as long as our bodies wanted (sweet luxury) and then got up to start our day. We made good use of some Christmas gift cards and went shopping for some dress shirts for Michael. It was a successful trip. Then we got down to business and drove to the west side to visit a coffee shop I’ve been meaning to try, Rising Star.

Our review: The coffee was complex and delicious, but not mind-blowing. It’s definitely worth a stop if you’re in the area, though. So, what to go with our coffee? Doughnuts, of course. We went to Jack Frost.

Talking to Alex at some point that day, we asked him if he had ever been (he’s much better at exploring his surroundings than we are), and he said, “you mean the Promised Land?” Well, Jack Frost was a little hole-in-the-wall in a random corner of Cleveland, and it may not have been flowing with milk and honey, but it definitely had an abundance of cream and glaze.

Doughnuts beyond doughnuts.

Doughnuts beyond doughnuts.

The doughnuts were cheap and delicious (just the way we like here in Cleveland) and my only regret is that we didn’t get five times more plain glazed than we did.

Transitioning into the evening, we dragged Ethan along to B. Dubs (apparently in Cleveland the nickname is BW3s? That does not make sense to me. Three what? Is this an actual thing?). After our outing of great company, so-so food, and the worst server ever, we screened a double feature: Birdman and Foxcatcher. We all really liked Birdman; we only got halfway through Foxcatcher before remembering that we’re old now and can’t stay up until 2:30 in the morning. I don’t plan on finishing– it struck me as creepy and depressing (M. confirms that it’s both).

We had a nice quick visit on Sunday with Mom and Dad H., and then I fulfilled my sloth goal of binge-watching a TV show and doing nothing. (Check.) I watched Orphan Black on the recommendation of my cousin Megan, friend Cait, and coworker Mary– three different sources confirming the same thing– it has to be good, right? It is. It almost fills the huge hole Fringe left in my heart.

Other bonus from Sunday: Michael made both lunch and dinner. (He also made dinner for me tonight.) I’m a lucky one.

This week has been crazy. I officially started my training program for the half marathon in May, worked a LOT, and had my interview for that full time position on Wednesday. It went well, and though I’m not really worried that I won’t get the position (there were six people applying for four positions; no one really wanted the one at my branch except me)– I’ll hear the actual, final decision in the next couple weeks.

Michael had an informational meeting yesterday to hear more about fourth year– the requirements and the structure, etc. It was somehow both daunting and comforting… He will have a lot more autonomy in his schedule, but he still has some pretty hefty requirements to fulfill, on top of applying and interviewing for residencies… And studying for Step 2. The possibility of away rotations is there, too– in which he could opt to do a rotation with a potential residency program anywhere in the country, for stretches of several weeks at a time. I did know what I was getting into when a married a future doctor, but that doesn’t always make it easier.

One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

