Over the Weekend…

(Or maybe this post should be called “This Past Week,” because it kind of feels like the weekend stretched back to last Tuesday.)

Last week we got to celebrate Christmas with the Hermelin side of the family here in Northeast Ohio. It was a perfect, low-key celebration (with Alex Facetimed-in from Kansas City for our gift exchange!). We ate delicious food and played games and watched football (Michael) and read (me) and rested.

On Thursday, my brother-in-law Patrick took me to the gun range to try my hand at trap shooting. I generally don’t like guns, but I do think target shooting is fun, and this was, too. Patrick is much better than I am and will be recruited to my team for the zombie apocalypse.

On Friday, Michael and I began the sad, sad process of “moving” back into our house. We hadn’t really stayed there for two weeks, and it felt cold and empty. (This was partly due to us having turned the thermostat way down while we were away. But still.) After getting a little more organized, we realized it was nice to be home, and we were ready to get back into a routine.

That didn’t last long, though, because the next morning I woke up at 3:30 am to catch a flight to Kansas City, in order to surprise my dear friend Megan at her baby shower. It was definitely a whirlwind trip– my flight landed in KC at 9:30, and I had to be on a plane back to Cleveland at 6. But it was so worth it.

Iron-on onesies at the shower

Iron-on onesies at the shower

A special one designed by Aaron

A special one designed by Aaron

Spending a day in my college town with some of my best friends in the whole world was a wonderful gift. And I had yet to see Megan’s baby bump– it was truly amazing to see that little life growing inside her! I’m looking forward to spending a few days with that baby girl after she arrives in March.

Lunch at Freestate Brewery. These women inspire joy and strength in me. I am so grateful to call them my friends.

Lunch at Freestate Brewery. These women inspire joy and strength in me. I am so grateful to call them my friends. (Photo by Aaron Boehmler)

A pit stop at my favorite coffee shop. I recommend the Sumatra blend or the almond latte.

A pit stop at my favorite coffee shop. I recommend the Sumatra blend or the almond latte.

The Campanile. How glorious to hear those bells!

The Campanile. How glorious to hear those bells!

Inside the campanile. There is a superstition at KU that if you walk all the way through the tower before graduating, you won't get your degree. We could all walk through without fear this time. :)

Inside the campanile. There is a superstition at KU that if you walk all the way through the tower before graduating, you won’t get your degree. We could all walk through without fear this time. 🙂

Surveying the football field

Surveying the football field

One last hug from the Seattle girl.

One last hug from the Seattle girl.

I couldn’t have imagined better friends before I met these women. It was very hard to leave them on Saturday.

I got back home really late that night, exhausted. Sunday truly was a day to get back into routine, as we prepared to start a normal work schedule again. Michael has been working hard on a research project for the last three days, barely taking breaks to eat, so his switch to begin his internal medicine rotation may actually be a welcome change of pace. But it was hard to say goodbye to him this morning, knowing I won’t have him home as much now that his break is over.

I started training this morning for the Cleveland Half Marathon, which I’m running in May with the med wives. It wasn’t really a New Year’s resolution– it just so happened that our training schedule started in January. This will be my first half and I’m really looking forward to the challenge.

That’s about it for now!

One thought on “Over the Weekend…

Leave a Reply

