2014: Year in Review

January

– I visited Minnesota to meet my newborn nephew, Wynden Robert.

Photo by Lindsey Atkins

– Michael and I started to make lots of endless decisions about our wedding.

– I began to grow in my friendships with my “med wives”– a group of women whose significant others attend medical school with Michael.

I began to grow in my friendships with my "med wives"-- a group of women whose significant others attend medical school with Michael.

In the months to come, I’d discover that these relationships are priceless. I’m so thankful to live alongside women in the exact same stage of life as me, who understand the unique difficulties and triumphs of making it through medical school with our spouses.

February

– Michael and I started attending marriage classes.

– I began working on a huge project at work– getting funding and support to start the children’s garden at my library.

– Our niece, Darcy Rae, was born on February 22.

Our niece, Darcy Rae, was born on February 22. Photo by Kay Wible.

Photo by Kay Wible

March

– Michael took his last “regular” exam for medical school, and started studying for Step One (of the United States Medical Licensing Examination).

– Michael and I went to Austin, Texas to meet our niece.

Michael and I went to Austin, Texas to meet our niece.

Photo by Lindsey Atkins

It was Michael's first time meeting Wyn, too.

It was Michael’s first time meeting Wyn, too. (Photo by Lindsey Atkins)

The Atkins came at the same time, so we got to see them, too. (Photo by Lindsey Atkins)

The Atkins came at the same time, so we got to see them, too. (Photo by Lindsey Atkins)

April

– I flew home to Minnesota and had a lovely bridal shower (thanks, Lori!). Amanda and Megan surprised me by traveling up from Kansas and Iowa to attend.

I flew home to Minnesota and had a lovely bridal shower (thanks, Lori!). (Photo by Kay Wible)

Photo by Kay Wible

(Photo by Kay Wible)

– I had a million wedding things to do– meeting with florists, getting my dress fitted, picking up rings, mailing every last invitation.

– I saw my vision and hard work on the Noble children’s garden become a reality.

I saw my vision and hard work on the Noble children's garden become a reality.

(Photo by Jacquie Young)

(Photo by Jacquie Young)

May

– Michael took the Step One Board Exam (and passed with flying colors).

– We began moving into our new apartment, in the house we share with our med school friends, the Hedges.

We began moving into our new apartment, in the house we share with our med school friends, the Hedges. (Photo by Lindsey Atkins)

Photo by Lindsey Atkins

– On May 31st, we got married, surrounded by loved ones, and had the best day ever.

On May 31st, we got married, surrounded by loved ones, and had the best day ever. (Photo by Ashleigh Saylor Photography)

Photo by Ashleigh Saylor Photography

(Photo by Ashleigh Saylor Photography)

Photo by Ashleigh Saylor Photography

(Photo by Ashleigh Saylor Photography)

Photo by Ashleigh Saylor Photography

June

– We took a road trip to Maine for our honeymoon.

Whale watching

Whale watching

The sand bar at low tide

The sand bar at low tide

Acadia National Park

Acadia National Park

– My mom and dad celebrated their 30th wedding anniversary.

July

– We took it easy and enjoyed summer in Cleveland.

– I got to have Michael home most of the time as he worked on research.

August

– We went to the Adamek Family Reunion in Hocking Hills, Ohio, with 50-some members of the extended Adamek family. I’m so lucky to have married into such a loving group of people.

Photo by Derrick McKinney

Photo by Derrick McKinney

Hiking Old Man's Cave. (Photo by John Adamek)

Hiking Old Man’s Cave. (Photo by John Adamek)

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

aug4

(I couldn’t resist sharing a couple more photos from beautiful Hocking Hills.)

– I celebrated my 25th birthday.

September

– I chopped off all my hair.

A silly selfie I sent to my brother-in-law the day of the shearing.

A silly selfie I sent to my brother-in-law the day of the shearing.

– Michael started his clinical rotations, and our daily lives changed drastically.

Michael on his first day of clinicals, leaving at some ungodly dark hour of the morning.

Michael on his first day of clinicals, leaving at some ungodly dark hour of the morning.

– In cahoots with my parents, I surprised my sisters with a weekend visit home to Minnesota.

The night before my flight, we facetimed with the unsuspecting fam and captured this priceless screenshot.

Baby baths! Wyn at 9 months and Darcy at 7 months.

Baby baths! Wyn at 9 months and Darcy at 7 months.

October

– I met Katherine Paterson.

– We carved pumpkins.

 – Michael started his surgery rotation, the most difficult season for us yet. (So glad that’s over!)

November

– Michael celebrated his 25th birthday.

We have Patrick to thank for "The Office"-themed cake.

We have Patrick to thank for “The Office”-themed cake.

– I staged an all-ages poetry reading through the library’s community-wide reading program.

– We celebrated Thanksgiving with Michael’s family and the extended Adamek family.

This picture is vying for my favorite of the year. Isis displays her affection for kids by kissing Michael's nine-year-old cousin, Olive.

This picture is vying for my favorite of the year. Isis displays her affection for kids by kissing Michael’s nine-year-old cousin, Olive.

December

– I started this blog!

– We celebrated Christmas for the first time as a married couple.

So fun to receive Christmas cards addressed to "The Hermelins"!

So fun to receive Christmas cards addressed to “The Hermelins”!

– We went to Minnesota to celebrate Christmas with the Wible side. (See previous post for pictures!)

– We got to attend Wyn’s first birthday party. (See previous post for pictures!)

– We are ending the year tonight by celebrating a late Christmas/New Year extravaganza with the Hermelin side!

Isis proudly displays her new festive collar from "Grandma" Hermelin.

Isis proudly displays her new festive collar from “Grandma” Hermelin.

_ . _

What a year, 2014! So many changes, challenges, and joys. We are looking forward to seeing what’s in store for the coming year.

Bring it on, 2015!

Leave a Reply

