Over the Weekend…

On Friday Michael and I got to attend a holiday party hosted by Michael’s research PI, Dr. Vallier. Michael has known Dr. Vallier since undergrad, and she’s been a wonderful source of wisdom and support as he goes through medical school. It was my first time meeting her, and it was fun to meet some of the other men and women that have helped M. navigate these past few years. I’m so thankful for all of them.

On Saturday at work, I taught my favorite program I’ve planned (so far) at the library. We learned how to make our own tessellations, and I got to fangirl about M.C. Escher.

I tried my hand at making a more complex tessellation.

I tried my hand at making a more complex tessellation.

I’ve had the opportunity to plan a series on STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and math) topics, and it’s been SO fun. Looking for the intersections between math and art, especially, has been really exciting and inspiring for me. I can’t wait to show this video by Vi Hart about the Fibonacci sequence at the STEAM program in February. Amazing stuff.

Saturday evening, Michael and I got hungry for Five Guys.

We felt like a Norman Rockwell painting.

I got coffee after this for a warm pick-me-up, and the person in front of me at the drive-through paid for my drink (!) with a “Merry Christmas” passed along, as well. It was delightful. I’m still figuring out how I want to pay it forward. What a joy to be the recipient of a random act of kindness.

At home, we had Ethan over to watch The Muppet Christmas Carol, which  I had never seen (Michael couldn’t believe that– but he’s never seen It’s a Wonderful Life, so I guess we’re even).

Isis loves Ethan. (Pardon the poor light quality… It was dark, but the moment was too precious to pass up.)

Loved it.

Loved it.

This was my highlight on Sunday:

What?!

What?!

Here’s hoping gas prices stay that low until our drive to Minnesota next weekend!

Leave a Reply

