Christmas Music

Just a quick note to say that I’ve been jamming out to this Christmas album for the last week and a half. It’s in my car on repeat. It’s the only physical Christmas CD I own. Get ready for it…

Hanson’s Snowed In.

Okay, regardless of the craziness that surrounded the Hanson brothers in 1997 after “MMMBop” was released, the plain and simple truth is that those kids were (and are) ridiculously talented. They were 11, 14, and 16 when “MMMBop” got big, and they wrote that song entirely by themselves– along with most of the rest of their music (though not all of the music off their Christmas album).

So before you judge, I challenge you to listen to this song and NOT want to get out your dancing shoes. (Apologies to my college roommate Nicole, on whom I’ve forced this exercise more than once. I couldn’t convert her, but she DID include “MMMBop” in the reception music at her wedding, for my benefit. Thanks, Coley.)

Hanson, you keep doing your thing.

“Merry Christmas Baby” by Lou Baxter and Johnny Cole, covered by Hanson on their 1997 album, Snowed In.

Can’t wait to dance to this with my sisters (and their babies!) in less than two weeks!

P.S. I never thought I’d be defending Hanson within my first ten posts on this blog, but there you have it.

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Music

Leave a Reply

