Over the Weekend…

I made a puffed pancake on Friday night.

I made a puffed pancake on Friday night.

Thanks, Mom H. for the blackberries! I used this recipe if anyone is interested.

A pup on Saturday morning.

A pup on Saturday morning.

Isis giving some love to Uncle Patrick.

Isis giving some love to Uncle Patrick.

On Saturday night we had a few of MIchael’s oldest friends over to watch “Boyhood” (including Michael’s brother, Patrick). We’re trying to get a head start on watching the Oscar-nominated titles (it’s slated for nomination, but the official list is obviously not out yet as the year isn’t over). One year we got through all the nominations for best picture, best actor in a leading role, and best actress in a leading role. That was a LOT of movies.

We got to have Patrick stay with us the rest of the weekend, too, which was really nice.

My handsome husband on an impromptu Sunday night date.

My handsome husband on an impromptu Sunday night date.

On Sunday we realized we had run out of Thanksgiving leftovers and had no meal-type food in the house. It’s hard to want to go grocery shopping when you’ve been sick, let alone cook. So after I got home from work, Michael whisked me off to a nice sit-down restaurant: McDonald’s. (Full disclosure: It was my idea.)

I had one of these for the first time in many, many years.

I had one of these for the first time in many, many years.

It ended up being one of my favorite dates. We sat and talked for over two hours, and it felt like we were the only people there.

Now onward to a new week… And counting down the days until our trip to Minnesota: 12!

Leave a Reply

